The Museum of Industrial Olive-Oil Production of Lesvos is housed in the old communal olive press of Agia Paraskevi. In the restored, stone-built building – which dates back to 1910 – the visitors can enable a comprehensive viewing of the basic steps of the olive-oil production process and be informed about the development of various machines. The only Geology Museum of the island is located at Limonos Monastery. Rocks, minerals and metals of the island of Lesvos are displayed in the museum. There is also a Folk History Museum with rooms filled with icons, sacred vessels, vestments, embroidery and folkloric exhibits.
Kalloni was one of the most thriving towns of Lesvos in the medieval era. A small medieval castle is located at the hill "Paliokastro", northeast of the town of Kalloni, which indicates the town's ancient location. The ruins of a medieval temple are located at the hill "Skepastos".
Ancient Temple of Klopedi: The Klopedi Sanctuary lies near the town of Kalloni, 4km northwest of Agia Paraskevi, on a hillside among olive groves, overlooking the mountains of ancient Pirra. The temple is one of the most representative examples of the Archaic architecture of Lesvos. These are the only relics of the 6th century "Aeolian" order buildings within Greek territory. Archaeologists conclude that this particular region used to host the most important altar of Lesvos. Excavations revealed a second Archaic temple located 13 m. from the first one. There are also the ruins of a Byzantine fort in the area.
Temple of Messon: The excavations carried out southeast of the village of Agia Paraskevi, unearthed relics of a large temple, dating back to the 3rd century B.C. It is believed that this temple used to house the altar where the Achaeans, once having settled, performed religious rites and worshiped Zeus, Hera and Dionysus. The temple's name derives from the ancient greek word "Messon" («το Μέσσον»), which means the center of the island. Due to its crucial position, it was the center of ancient Lesbian worship and communication, and a meeting point for the entirety of Lesvian cities.
Ancient Pirra: The relics of the ancient city of Pirra are situated at the estuary of Vouvari river. The ruins are submerged in the sea and can be seen when the water is calm and still. The territory of Pirra extended over the largest part of Kalloni Bay and was one of the five ancient city-states of the island of Lesvos. The city is dated from the 10th and the 8th century B.C. until it was destroyed by a large earthquake in 231 B.C. and part of it was sunk by the tide. There are ancient ruins of buildings, altars, shipyards and jetty, which indicate the turnout of the population in the sanctuary of Pirra.
Limonos Monastery: It is located just above the town of Kalloni on the road to Antissa and Sigri, in the middle of a green valley. Built in 1526, Moni Limonos is an important monastery in the heart of Lesvos, with an impressive museum wealth and unique historical significance, which receives thousands of visitors every year. It has been described as a miniature version of the monastic town of Mount Athos. There is a library with about 5.000 volumes of books (from 1502 until today) and Byzantine manuscripts from the 9th to the 19th century.
Moni Panagias Mirsiniotisas: It is located north of the village of Dafia, at a short distance (4 km) from Kalloni, near the Limonos Monastery. The monastery is named after the many myrtle trees [myrtle (μυρτιά) = mirsini (μυρσίνη) in greek] of the area. The Byzantine monastery was founded in 1487 and later became a sister community to the nearby Limonos Monastery. There are many Byzantine icons, murals and the significant wood-carved altarpiece.